Welcome to the official website of the Government of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.

His Excellency Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, President of the Republic of Ghana, is scheduled to visit Saint Vincent and the Grenadines for a two-day official visit from Wednesday 12th June – Thursday 13th June 2019.

His Excellency President Akufo-Addo and delegation, which includes the Foreign Minister of the Republic of Ghana, the Hon. Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey; will be greeted by a Guard of Honour and Welcome Parade at the Argyle International Airport.

During the official visit, President Akufo-Addo will deliver a public lecture at the Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Community College to an audience comprising of students, business executives, representatives of the Civil Society and the Ghanaian Association in Saint Vincent and the Grenadines. A Special Sitting of Parliament is scheduled to take place at the House of Assembly during the afternoon of Wednesday, 12th June 2019.  His Excellency will also visit the Botanical Gardens for a tour and tree planting ceremony.

The Republic of Ghana and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines established diplomatic relations on August 1, 2008.  Since then, our countries continue to strengthen the relationship to foster greater prospects for trade, people-to-people exchanges, and cooperation in oil and gas, agriculture, education, health and tourism, as well as investment opportunities.  The Prime Minister of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Hon. Dr. Ralph Gonsalves, made an official visit to the Republic of Ghana in November, 2018, as part of the process of cementing deeper cooperation with the African continent. The Ghanaian President’s visit to this country will seek to further deepen existing diplomatic relations.  This is of particular significance as the Government of the Republic of Ghana celebrates the “Year of the Return”, four hundred (400) years after the start of the slave trade.

The President’s visit is part of his five-day Caribbean region tour.  His Excellency will also be visiting the Republic of Guyana, the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados, and Jamaica.