### **ST. VINCENT AND THE GRENADINES:**

### EXCHANGE OF INFORMATION FOR TAX PURPOSES

Exchange of Information for Tax purposes is guided by the International Co-operation (Information Exchange Agreements) Act, 2011, *Ref:* <u>http://svgfsa.com/pdf/svg\_intl\_co-op\_tax\_info\_exchange\_agree\_act\_2011.pdf</u>. This Act sets out the procedure for the implementation of agreements and arrangements entered into by the Government of St. Vincent and the Grenadines with other jurisdictions to provide for the exchange of information for tax and connected purposes.

The Competent Authority pursuant to the Act is the **Minister of Finance**. The Minister of Finance in St. Vincent and the Grenadines is Dr. The Hon. Ralph E. Gonsalves, the country's Prime Minister. The contact details of the Competent Authority are as follows:

# Minister of Finance Office of the Prime Minister 4<sup>th</sup> Floor Administrative Building P.O. Box 608 Kingstown Tel: 784 456 1703/456 1111 Fax: 784 457 2152 Email: pmosvg@vincysurf.com

Certain administrative functions of the Competent Authority are carried out by the **Financial Services Authority (FSA).** The FSA is an autonomous statutory body established by the Financial Services Authority Act 2011 *Ref:* <u>www.svgfsa.com</u>. The Executive Director of the FSA is Mrs. Sharda Bollers, its Deputy Executive Director is Ms. Eleanor Astaphan and its Legal Officer is Ms. Geshell Peters. In carrying out its functions, the FSA liaises with the other relevant Authorities in St. Vincent and the Grenadines including, the Inland Revenue Department and the Commerce and Intellectual Property Office. The contact details of the FSA are as follows:

## Executive Director Financial Services Authority 2<sup>nd</sup> Floor NIS Building Upper Bay Street P.O. Box 356 Kingstown Tel: 456 2577 Fax: 457 2568 Email: info@svgfsa.com

### sbollers@svgfsa.com

The following is a list of jurisdictions with which St. Vincent and the Grenadines has established Tax Information Exchange Agreements (TIEAs):

- 1. Aruba
- 2. Australia
- 3. Austria
- 4. Belgium
- 5. Canada
- 6. Curacao
- 7. Denmark
- 8. Faroe Islands
- 9. Finland
- 10. France
- 11. Germany
- 12. Greenland
- 13. Iceland
- 14. Ireland
- 15. Liechtenstein
- 16. Netherlands
- 17. New Zealand
- 18. Norway
- 19. Sint Maarten
- 20. Sweden
- 21. United Kingdom

Further information on these Agreements may be viewed by visiting the following link: <u>http://www.oecd.org/tax/transparency/taxinformationexchangeagreementstieasstvincentth</u> <u>egrenadines.htm</u>

St. Vincent and the Grenadines has also signed the CARICOM Treaty - a multilateral Double Taxation Treaty signed by the following Member States: Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Jamaica, St. Kitts & Nevis, Guyana, St. Lucia and Trinidad and Tobago.

St. Vincent and the Grenadines remains committed to implementing the internationally agreed tax standards of the Organization of Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), and to ensure a transparent and efficient tax information exchange regime.